Friday, May 12, 2006
- 10.05 - A hit [I construe this to be inclusive of 6.09 (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), & (h)*]
- 10.06 - A fielder's choice
- 10.13 - A fielder's error
- 6.08 (a) Four "balls" have been called by the umpire
- 6.08 (b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball
- 6.08 (c) The catcher or any fielder interferes with him
- 6.08 (d) A fair ball touches an umpire or a runner on fair territory before touching a fielder [or] having passed a fielder other than the pitcher
- 6.09 (b) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out
- 7.05 (b,c,d,e) If a fielder deliberately touches a fair [or thrown] ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person... [or] throws his glove at and touches a fair [or thrown] ball...
- 7.05 (g,h,i) If an unusual play arises where a first throw by an infielder goes into stands or dugout but the batter did not become a runner (such as catcher throwing ball into stands in attempt to get runner from third trying to score on passed ball or wild pitch) ...[or,] if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop... [or], lodges in the umpire's mask or paraphernalia.
- I know it's supposed to be the "Top Ten" ways, but yesterday's quiz asked for 11 ways, and this extra one is tricky because it does not involve the batter reaching first. You could be put in as a pinch runner.
BONUS QUIZ -
Three of the members of the 1983 Phillies World Series team (Pete Rose, Joe Morgan and and Tony Perez) also played on the "Big Red Machine", which won 5 division titles, 4 pennants and 2 World Series. What other member of the Big Red Machine that dominated baseball in the mid-seventies also played for the Phillies, but not in the same year as any of the other three?
*I think a legitimate argument could be made that an out of the park homerun and a ground rule double are substantively different in that no viable play is possible. However, I don't think that extra base hits would fall into that category, because the question was about safe ways to reach first base. Regardless of where the ball falls in the field of play, if the fielders are unable with reasonable effort to make the put-out, that counts as a hit and the batter has safely reached first.
Links to this post
Comments: Post a Comment